5 thoughts on “West Virginia Teachers Keep On Fighting As Legislature Debates Charter Schools and Education Savings Accounts

  1. Hi Jan, Hope you are well. You have been a faithful supporter of public education for so many years.

    You might want to check out how Richard Corcoran, who is a big voucher supporter and whose wife is a charter school executive, has been appointed FL Superintendent of Education. The former person was forced out. Corcoran is the former Speaker of FL house, a lawyer with no education background to my knowledge…. The beat goes on.

    We are well here in spite of it all. Peace, Bernice

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Pingback: Jan Resseger: West Virginia Teachers Keep Fighting Charters and Vouchers | Diane Ravitch's blog

  3. Pingback: Elizabeth Warren, Bernie Sanders and Education Policy Blunders | Teacher in a strange land

  4. Hi Jan! WV teacher here and thank you for all of your work on our fight! I’ve been doing a lot of research and reading pieces by Diane Ravitch which led me to your blog. I really appreciate the work you are putting into our fight. I would like to point out a few things I noticed while reading this blog. Our walkout in 2018 was due to our low pay and deteriorating benefits, which were supposed to make up for our low pay. Also, the Senate has passed another omnibus bill and they have passed both charters and ESAs, but their version of compromise was to put the ESAs in a separate bill from the omnibus that contained the charter and strike language. I hope I’m not being disrespectful or finicky by pointing those out! Again, I appreciate your work! Thank you!

Leave a comment